Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 12th, 2010

Second Opinion

The first thyroid biopsy I had was interpreted as neoplasms consistent with Medullary Thyroid Cancer.  I had the blood test to check for calcetonin which came back negative (a good thing) and haven’t heard about last week’s lab results yet.

Tomorrow, I go for a second biopsy to a top, female cytopathologist who will do the biopsy herself and read the results.  Already this makes her a cut above (no pun intended) the radiologist and pathologist (two people) who did the first biopsy.

My prayer request is multi-faceted for:

  1. A clear-cut healing of any unusual/ cancerous cells.  It would be amazing and wonderful and give glory to God if the biopsy came out perfectly clear!
  2. The lab results from last weeks Urine Metanephrines’ test and PTH test to come out negative.
  3. Me to start feeling better from the Sythroid I take (the thyroid hormone).  It’s been almost 6 weeks.
  4. A family intention that is separate from my physical health issues but is causing a LOT of consternation and stress.

If you are thinking, what in the world is all this praying about, haven’t we already prayed for this?  I understand.  I might even have agreed with you, but in the last couple of days I read the following passage from the bible:                 ~Luke 18: 1-8

Jesus told his disciples a parable about the necessity for them to pray always without becoming weary. He said, “There was a judge in a certain town who neither feared God nor respected any  human being. And a widow in that town used to come to him and say,
‘Render a just decision for me against my adversary.’
For a long time the judge was unwilling, but eventually he thought,
‘While it is true that I neither fear God nor respect any human being, because this widow keeps bothering me I shall deliver a just decision for her lest she finally come and strike me.'”
The Lord said, “Pay attention to what the dishonest judge says.
Will not God then secure the rights of his chosen ones
who call out to him day and night?
Will he be slow to answer them?
I tell you, he will see to it that justice is done for them speedily.
But when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”

Yes, he will find faith here.  Meanwhile, I must consider the possibility of needing a surgeon and am looking at two different ones in D.C. and at Johns Hopkins.  Nothing is exactly close, and both surgeons are not available tomorrow for consultation.  So all of this is unsettling to say the least.

Thanks for your support, it really keeps my spirits up.

Read Full Post »